Portal links verified July 2026. Universities occasionally change systems: if a link fails, search '<university name> international student application' or tell us via the contact page.
◆Hidden Gem
A documented low-cost option: CNY 6,800 per academic year for language and bachelor's programmes, CNY 3,400 for the one-semester course, and accommodation from CNY 400 per semester, with a 30-student intake that requires no prior Chinese. The university publishes no scholarship for international students, so the case here is cost rather than funding.
Why Hidden Gems win →Admissions timeline
CSC/CGS planning season: general government guidance describes September through the following March, but this is not a deadline for every route. Check the current embassy, dispatching-authority or university notice for the exact opening, submission stages and closing date.
Typical intake: September; some universities offer a smaller March intake.
We have not yet hand-checked a current application window for Wenshan University, so no status pill is shown. Absence from our verified list does not mean closed: confirm on the official admission notice. Verified windows sitewide were last checked September 14, 2026.
Application deadlines
For the Spring 2026 intake, the 'Admission Brochure for International Students — Spring Semester 2026, Wenshan University', published on the university's English site on 2025-11-15, states an application period of 1 November 2025 to 15 December 2025 and enrolment in March 2026, with applications sent by email to wenshanuniversity@163.com; that window has closed. The separate 'WENSHAN UNIVERSITY ADMISSIONS FOR INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS 2025' page gives a bachelor's programme application deadline of June 2025 with September 2025 enrolment, and for language programmes a fall-semester (September intake) deadline of early June 2025, and states that admission documents are mailed by the end of July for the fall semester and the end of January for the spring semester. No notice for a fall 2026, spring 2027 or 2027-2028 intake had been published on the university's own domain at the retrieval date, and no university-scholarship, provincial-scholarship or CSC deadline is stated in any accessible notice.
Source status: official notice from the most recently verified cycle; checked September 14, 2026.
Deadline directory reviewed 8 August 2026. The 2027-2028 cycle is not yet published for most universities, so older dates are labelled as prior-cycle evidence or typical planning windows. Confirm the exact program and scholarship deadline on the official portal before applying.
A full-time public undergraduate institution in Wenshan City, Wenshan Zhuang and Miao Autonomous Prefecture, Yunnan, bordering Vietnam's Tuyen Quang Province. Its own English site describes it as a Demonstration University for Applied Undergraduate Talent Training in Yunnan Province, and its introduction page records that it is the first university in the province jointly established by the Yunnan Provincial Department of Education and the Wenshan Prefectural People's Government. It runs nine second-level institutes and research centres focused on Wenshan Sanqi notoginseng, including a Yunnan Notoginseng Engineering Technology and Research Center. Its predecessor, the National Southwestern Teacher School, moved from Zhaotong to Wenshan in 1947, and the institution became an undergraduate university in 2009. It is not on the CSC Chinese Government Scholarship host-institution list published by CSC. With recognised strengths in School of Humanities and Media, School of Education, School of Economics and Management, School of Marxism, Wenshan University does not currently have verified CSC host status. This page collects the non-CSC scholarships, costs, and application details recorded for Wenshan University.
Scholarships available at Wenshan University
Scholarship availability is based on program type and province; always confirm on the university's international admissions page for the current intake.
Wenshan, Yunnan: living costs
Estimated monthly living costs for food, transport, phone service and personal items; accommodation is separate unless the student's award letter says otherwise.
Application fee
Application fee: not verified yet. Check the current admission notice on the official portal.
University application fees typically range CNY 400-800; a few universities charge none, and a few waive it for CSC awardees. The CSC portal itself is always free.
Fee amounts verified against official 2026-2027 admission notices; universities update fees yearly: confirm on the linked portal.
Verified admission details
Scope: International applicants to the Spring Semester 2026 short-term Chinese Language Program (one semester, 30-student quota, no prior Chinese required), read on the university's official English site english.wsu.edu.cn; fee, age, document and application-window facts are from this brochure, with the academic-year tuition and HSK Level 4 requirement taken from the companion 'WENSHAN UNIVERSITY ADMISSIONS FOR INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS 2025' page on the same site.. Read from Wenshan University’s official notice and re-checked September 14, 2026.
- Tuition fee, short-term Chinese language
- RMB 3,400 per semester
- Tuition, language and bachelor's programmes
- CNY 6,800 per person per academic year
- Accommodation fee, Spring 2026
- RMB 400 per semester
- Residence permit fee
- RMB 400 per half-year
- Health check-up fee
- Approximately RMB 300 per time
- Insurance premium
- Approximately RMB 300 per half-year
- Application fee
- Not stated
- Application period, Spring 2026
- 1 November 2025 to 15 December 2025
- Enrolment
- March 2026
- Application method
- Email to wenshanuniversity@163.com
- Age requirement
- In principle 18 to 25 years old
- Language requirement, degree programmes
- HSK Level 4 with a score of 180 or above
- Enrolment quota
- 30 students per intake (Spring 2026 short-term Chinese language)
- Tuition per year
- Chinese-language CNY 3,400 per semester (Short-term Chinese Language Program, Spring 2026 intake); CNY 6,800 per academic year (language programmes, per the 2025 admissions notice); Bachelor's CNY 6,800 per academic year (bachelor's degree programmes, per the 2025 admissions notice)
- Tuition notes
- The Spring 2026 brochure prices only the short-term Chinese language programme at CNY 3,400 per semester. The academic-year figure of CNY 6,800 covers both language programmes and bachelor's degree programmes on that notice. The Spring 2026 brochure does not state whether English-taught programmes carry a different tuition. No master's or doctoral tuition is stated by any notice on the university's own domain.
- Accommodation
- CNY 400 per semester (Spring 2026 short-term programme); CNY 800 per person per academic year (2025 admissions notice, accommodation fee); a separate university accommodation page states CNY 1,200 per person per year for a four-person room and CNY 800 per person per year for a six-person room
- Medical insurance
- Approximately CNY 300 per half-year (Spring 2026 brochure); the 2025 admissions notice states only that international students must purchase the Comprehensive Insurance Plan for Foreign Students on arrival
- Residence permit
- CNY 400 per half-year
- Physical examination
- Approximately CNY 300 per time
- Entry requirements
- Language: Chinese-taught programmes require HSK Level 4 with a score of 180 or above (2025 admissions notice). The Spring 2026 short-term Chinese Language Program states no prior Chinese proficiency is required, with core courses in Comprehensive Chinese, speaking, listening, characters and HSK preparation. No IELTS or TOEFL threshold is stated.. Age: Should in principle be between 18 and 25 years old (Spring 2026 brochure). The 2025 admissions notice states undergraduate applicants should generally be under 25 years old.. Required degree: High school graduation or equivalent qualification, with an excellent academic record. The 2025 notice lists bachelor's degree programmes in Chinese Language and Literature, Artificial Intelligence, Intelligent Manufacturing Engineering and Geographic Information Science.. Financial guarantee: A family bank statement is a required application document for the Spring 2026 intake. No minimum amount is stated.
Source: Admission Brochure for International Students — Spring Semester 2026, Wenshan University, published 2025-11-15. Fees and dates can change: confirm the current intake on the official notice before paying anything.
Find faculty & official info
Browse the official website to identify potential supervisors and their research groups. We link to the official site rather than listing individual professor emails: always find current contact details on department pages.
Official websiteWenshan University scholarship FAQ
Can I apply for the CSC scholarship at Wenshan University?
Wenshan University is not currently in our verified list of CSC-designated Chinese University Program host institutions, so plan your funding around other routes, such as Yunnan Provincial Scholarship and International Chinese Language Teachers (Confucius) Scholarship. Scholarship participation can change from year to year, so confirm the current options on the university's international admissions page.
What scholarships can international students get at Wenshan University?
Funding routes reported for Wenshan University include Yunnan Provincial Scholarship, International Chinese Language Teachers (Confucius) Scholarship. Award levels, quotas, and eligibility change by intake, so verify each award on the official admissions page before you apply.
What is the application deadline for Wenshan University?
Deadlines are set by the university and often differ by program and intake. Check the official Wenshan University admissions page for the exact dates as early as possible.
What can I study at Wenshan University?
Wenshan University in Wenshan, Yunnan has strengths in School of Humanities and Media, School of Education, School of Economics and Management, School of Marxism. Explore its program catalogue for English-taught and Chinese-taught options at your degree level.
Scholarship availability is based on program type and province; always confirm on the university's international admissions page for the current intake.
Related guides
- CSC Scholarship 2027-2028: opening date and schedule
When the next cycle opens and every deadline that matters.
- Acceptance vs pre-admission vs invitation letter
Which document this university needs for your route.
- CSC application fees: what you actually pay
Verified fee ranges and how to spot scams.
- Free eligibility assessment
Check your application readiness before you spend time applying.
- Language requirements: HSK, IELTS, and English programs
Which language proof this route actually needs.
Short on time?
This step can be included in an agreed service scope covering professor outreach, document work, and portal preparation and submission support.
First chat is a free 15-minute profile assessment. Nothing to pay before scope is agreed in writing.
Related universities
Ready to begin? Read the full step-by-step CSC application guide or the complete 2027-2028 overview.